Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 6764

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Glen of , asks...

I understand that calling a GK who barely (< 1 ft.) leaves the penalty area while handling/releasing the ball during a punt is a trifling foul -- as a ref I normally give a warning the first time I see it and the problem is solved. However, when is it technically a foul? Is it when the ball is completely outside the penalty area boundary (similar to calling a ball "out" when it completely crosses the touchline/goal line, or a calling a goal when the ball completely crosses the goal line in the net) and the GK still has his hands on it? Or does it have anything to do with the GK's feet (i.e. are both (or one) outside the penalty area)?

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Just the ball Glenn, just the ball. Feet have nothing to do with it. ..Regards,

Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Victor Matheson

It is technically a foul if the goalkeeper's hands are touching the ball once the ball is completely over the penalty area line.

Read other questions answered by Referee Victor Matheson

View Referee Victor Matheson profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Watch where the ball is. If it's compleetly over the penalty area boundary line and still in the keeper's hands, it's a foul. I agree, it's trifling and a word or two to the keeper should keep it from happening again. Feet don't matter

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 6764
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.