Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 6788

Law 14 - Penalty kick

RE: Competitive Under 12

Greg H of , IL asks...

In a penalty kick situation, the following transpired; the person taking the kick approached the spot (prior to my whistle), as I whistled to stop the kick, the kicker proceeded to kick the ball and missed with the shot. Should the kicker of gotten another chance or because the kick was off of the mark does the kicker lose out on a second chance. Note: I could only find in FIFA laws, after it was properly signalled. Thanks for your help.

Answer provided by Referee Victor Matheson

By the letter of the law, this kick must be retaken because without the proper signal to take the kick, it has not legally taken place. That being said, never in a million years would I allow the player retake the kick. Here Law 18, common sense, has to override Law 14.

Read other questions answered by Referee Victor Matheson

View Referee Victor Matheson profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

There is a signal required to take a penalty kick, when a player attempts a kick before that signal he does so because he thinks he has an advantage. If he misses, even with the perceived advantage, he has had his shot. Even though the Law requires a retake, he won't get one from me. An assessor may not like it, but I'll take the hit. If the kick goes in there will be a retake, and a caution for unsporting behavior, too. ..Regards,

Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

I'm with them on this one

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 6788
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.