Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 6978

Law 13 - Free Kicks

RE: Select Under 14

Bruce Pocock of sacramento, CA sacramento asks...

Indirect vs. direct kicks in the penalty box..If an offensive player is fouled in the opponents' penalty box under what circumstances can an in-direct kick be awarded?..I thought ALL fouls in the box would result in a PK...The referee stated after the game that the foul (tripping) was not intentional and therefore a PK was not awarded. Is this correct?

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Bruce any tripping foul is a direct free kick offense and if in the penalty area becomes a penalty kick. The other 9 direct free kick offenses kicks, jumps, charges, strikes, pushes, tackles and gets the opponent before the ball, holds, spits at an opponent and handling are penalty kicks if in the penalty area. This referee clearly needs further instruction before his next match; he is not doing his job of enforcing the Laws of the Game because he does not know them...Regards,

Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino 12/10/2003

Tripping,intentional or not, is one of the 10 penal fouls and if committed in the penalty area, a penalty kick is awarded. If this referee felt the trip was careless enough to warrant a foul, he should have awarded a PK. Fouls that result in an IFK for the attackers inside the penalty area are: playing in a dangerous manner, impeding the progress of an opponent,second touches by the keeper,keeper wasting time,or any other offense not previously mentioned in Law 12 for which play is stopped to caution or dismiss a player.

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Sebalja 12/12/2003

The attempt in itself is enough to give a DFK, this is often overlooked as normally there would be play on.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Sebalja

View Referee Gary Sebalja profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 6978
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.