Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 7068

Law 14 - Penalty kick

RE: Recreation Under 16

David Khedr of Santa Monica,, ca los Angeles asks...

A penalty was called on the blue team; the player from the red team is waiting for the ref to whistle so he can kick the penalty. The ref whistle the red player goes to the ball and adjust the ball with his hand and go back and kick the ball and score. Is the goal allowed? Does the player have the right to touch the ball with his hand after the ref whistle to kick the ball?

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

The ball isn't in play until it's kicked and moves forward David. If the player chooses that time to reposition the ball it's fine. BUT, if that referee was me the kick would not be taken until I reset things and whistled again. I guess I'm a bit formal when it comes to a penalty kick... ..The method you speak of is ok. Every one knew who the kicker was, the whistle had sounded and the ball was kicked forward. So the goal should be allowed. ..Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

I agree. I'm much more formal at a penalty kick. The kicker may adjust the ball with his hands after the whistle. If he adjusts it and tries a quick kick, I'd probably card him for unsporting behavior and disallow a goal and have a retake.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Sebalja

Why adjust the ball? Why?! This is all I ask myself when it happens. I love delays restart of play. YC you know. Then I remember the paper work. not so smart then.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Sebalja

View Referee Gary Sebalja profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 7068
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.