Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 7077

RE: rec Adult

Max of Cerritos, CA US asks...

The attacker gets by a defender, the defender catches up to thr right side of attacker (slightly behind) right away, reaches out and pokes the ball away with the right foot(along the path of attacker to an oncoming defender, not across). There is a slight contact of legs between the attacker and the defender who clears the ball. Is this considered a foul regardless of the attacker falling down?.Thanks.

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

This is one I would have to see Max, at the outset a referee must judge if there is contact with the opponent before contact with the ball, that's foul play. Next thing to determine would be if the defender tripped the opponent subsequent to an, otherwise fair, challenge. ..Just because this challenge came from slightly behind does not make it foul play, it's just a bit more difficult to make a clean tackle. ..Regards,

Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Had to be there on this one. I will say this, simply because there is contact doesn't necessitate a foul unless contact was made with the attacker before the defender made contact with the ball. If the defender made a clean tackle, getting the ball first, and kept his feet down, it's not necessarily a foul even if the attacker trips and falls down. Remember, the foul of tripping,even if it occurs, must, in the opinion of the referee, be careless to warrant a foul.

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Sebalja

This is likely to be a foul as misconduct of law 12 has occurred it does not matter if the ball was touched first if the follow through trips up the player then it is a foul

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Sebalja

View Referee Gary Sebalja profile

Answer provided by Referee Morley

I am not totally sure what happended from your description. I would have to see the incident to make my own mind up. Sometimes a players follow through with a tackle will mean that contact with an opponent is inevitable and will not necessarily mean a foul has been committed.

Read other questions answered by Referee Morley

View Referee Morley profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 7077
Read other Q & A regarding

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.