Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 7248

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Brian of , MN asks...

The ball is in play when a player on the field but not near the ball punches an opposing player who is also on the field and not near the ball. Play is stopped and the offending player is sent off...How is play restarted?

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Good question Brian! Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct is where the answer you seek is found. At the bottom of the Direct Free Kick .Offenses there is a sentence that reads: ..A direct free kick is taken from where the offense occurred.* (see page 3) ..What this means is where the gent that did the hitting was, that?s where we go to restart play. Place the ball under where the blow struck, if that?s within a defender's penalty area then the free kick becomes a penalty kick. If the spot is within a defender's goal area and his side is awarded the free kick it may be taken from any place within the goal area. In this case all players opposing the free kick must be and remain outside the penalty area until the ball is kicked and moves into play outside the penalty area (directly into the outfield). ..Regards,

Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Morley

A direct free kick to the team that has had the player punched, and if this offence took place in the opposing teams penalty area then it would be a penalty kick, irrespective of where the ball was at the time of the incident..Cheers

Read other questions answered by Referee Morley

View Referee Morley profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 7248
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.