Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 7304

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

RE: co-ed middle school Under 15

Russ of Thomson, Ga USA asks...

Hand ball:.If the ball, bounces from the ground, to strike your under arm pit, in the 18 yd. box, not penalty box,... inadvertant... player was shielding self from two of other team's players running at my player and the ball.

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Hey Russ. How're things in Thomson? First, the 18 yard box and penalty box are the same thing; the penalty area. As far as deliberately handling the ball is concerned, it doesn't matter where on the field it occurs. It has to be deliberate or avoidable. If it's inadvertant as you state and the ball plays the hand, or in your case arm, it cannot be deliberatly handling the ball. However, it's the opinion of the referee that counts and he/she may not have seen things as you did

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

If the referee gives handball there has been a breach of the Laws of the Game. ..Regards,

Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Morley

Deliberate handball should be punished with the award of a direct free kick to the opposing side, or if this occurs in the penalty area then a penalty kick. Accidental handball, ball to hand, is just that, accidental and play continues. As stated it is down to what the referee sees and how he/she interprets what they see.

Read other questions answered by Referee Morley

View Referee Morley profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 7304
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.