Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 8777

Law 5 - The Referee

RE: juvinile Under 15

Grant of Perth, scotland asks...

If the ref gets in the road of a goal bound efort and its obviously going in, what happens?

Answer provided by Referee Dawson

Hi Grant, .A referee is part of the field conditions and if he acts like a post the ball is simply in play off the rebound. Mind you smart referees try to avoid acting as keeper since one team tends to get very upset. Cheers

Read other questions answered by Referee Dawson

View Referee Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Grant in this instance the referee must do everything possible to find a better position on the field. He has gotten in the way of a goal and irritated one side because play must continue and the goal may not be awarded. Referees should always seek positions that are not in the passing lanes or interfere with player's movements on the field. Sometimes this is impossible and one hopes the ball that hits you is not goal bound. ..Regards,

Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Laflin

The goal cannot stand, as it has not crossed the line under the crossbar and between the posts... ..As my colleagues have pointed out, it is more than likely due to poor positioning on the part of the referee that gets in the way of a shot on goal. It is rarely a good idea to get in between the ball and the goal, as not only do you deny one team a shot on target, it really stings your face when it's cold :-P..Regards,

Read other questions answered by Referee Laflin

View Referee Laflin profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 8777
Read other Q & A regarding Law 5 - The Referee

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.