Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 9836

Law 14 - Penalty kick

RE: Competitive Under 11

M of , asks...

In our match this weekend, the CR called a foul in the PA and awarded our team a PK. The opposing coach called his GK over to the bench area refused to allow his GK to re-enter the playing field. When asked, he told the CR that he would not be sending his GK back onto the field, nor would anyone else be subbed in as GK for the PK. The CR told our player to go ahead with the PK (to an empty goal). Our player took the PK and, of course, made the shot. The opposing coach went balistic, stating it was not a legal PK, as there was no GK on the line to defend the kick. Was the CR correct to have the player take the PK whent he opposing coach refused to have a player on the line to defend the kick?

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

NO!!!!! ..When the goalkeeper left the field without the referees permission he is cautioned and shown the yellow card. Law 12 is specific, it?s a cautionable offence. The referee was remiss in not cautioning the player. ..When the coach refused to have a goalkeeper on the field the match could not continue, it should be abandoned BUT not before the coach was expelled for irresponsible behaviour. The assistant coach or captain should be given the opportunity to nominate a goalkeeper before ending the match. ..The referee would write a report explaining why the match could not continue and let the league authorities deal with it. ..Regards,

Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Law 3, The match is played by two teams,each consisting of not more than 11 players,one of whom is the GOALKEEPER. You cannot play without a keeper. period. This referee acted incorrectly. First, caution the keeper for leaving without permission. When the coach refuses to put someone in goal, the referee says fine, we're not restarting the game until you do. If the coach persists in his attitude,the coach is dismissed, the game must be abandoned, the referee writes a report and the proper authorities decide what to do next.

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Victor Matheson

Just as one final aside, I note that this was in an U-11 game. Nice role model he is providing for his young players. What an embarrassment this coach is to our sport and to his players.

Read other questions answered by Referee Victor Matheson

View Referee Victor Matheson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 9836
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.