Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login
[Previous] [Next]

Law 11 - Offside 10/5/2018

Dr Yott of Preston, UK asks...

Offside again :)

Defense push forward in a line with the ball leaving Attacker1 on edge on penalty spot in an offside position.

Attacker2 tackles, wins ball, dribbles forward to goal line / corner (ball now ahead of Attacker1) and p...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/4/2018

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...


Defender passes the ball to his goalkeeper (back-pass). Goalkeeper kicks this ball. After this kick ball touches goalkeeper's hand.

I am thinking about this. In the penalty area it is offence (back-pass rule). But outside the...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/4/2018

trevor isaacs of Saint AUgustine, FL USA asks...

Forward gets a break away one on one with keeper, ball is on the ground
1. Keeper goes to ground, tips the ball away from forward, forward's momentum causes him to crash into keeper's knee, forward goes down...Referee call a penalty. Referee sa...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 10/2/2018

Glen Brizendine of Youngsville, Nc Usa asks...

Penalty Kick:
1st identified kicker steps up takes the PK and misses. The AR signals a Keeper infraction (off the line early) kick to be re-taken.
Question: CAN the team taking the kick now identify a new kicker to take the second PK (the re-...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 15 - The Throw In 10/2/2018

Barry Stewart of Chilliwack, BC Canada asks...

Recent Law rewrites have been made to bring consistency to other Laws.

It seems odd to me that if a throw-in is never in play but done improperly (foot raised, or one-handed, etc.) that the throwing team should lose possession.


Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 10/2/2018

Melwyn of Mumbai, Maharashtra India asks...

Thank you for clarifying my query (Ref: 32762). In a similar case, what if the players swap position without informing the Referee? Does the referee allow the kick to be taken and then caution both players? After the caution, allowing the goal to sta...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 10/2/2018

patrick of richboro, pa usa asks...

If the ball carrier is not offside but one of his teammates is in an offside position but the ball carrier never passes to him can he ever be called offside?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 13 - Free Kicks 10/1/2018

Eduardo Bertot of Chriistmas, Fl Usa asks...

A free kick inside your own penalty area must leave penalty area to be in play (ie goal kick) or kick is retaken. Is there an exception however if there is handling before ball leaves penalty area. Example keeper takes goal kick and a teammate handle...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/1/2018

Tom of Denver, Co Usa asks...

One of my most difficult calls to make is shoulder to shoulder but one player puts more shoulder into in than another, and when it is correct to call a foul. I know shoulder to shoulder is legal but coming in from an angle with excessive speed, I wil...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 5 - The Referee 10/1/2018

Mika Lehtonen of Helsinki, Finland asks...

This happened some 6 years ago...


Attacking team takes a throw-in. A few moments later second ball is thrown-in by the attacking (near midfield).

Is it a good g...

Read The Full Q & A

[Previous] [Next]

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.