Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login
[Previous] [Next]

Law 18 - Common Sense 7/14/2015

Kaitlin F of Kitimat, BC Canada asks...

Hi there. I'm a referee in my 3rd year and have a question.. I usually ref an all girls division of girls around 10 years old. Most of them are beginners and are unframiliar with the rules. I've warned the goalies many times that if they are holding ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 18 - Common Sense 7/2/2015

Mitch of Ottawa, ON Canada asks...


What happens at a PK when after the whistle is blown the kicker (who previously identified as the kicker) does not take the kick? What is the call and the restart?

In the same kind of category, what happens at a kick-off afte...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 18 - Common Sense 6/27/2015

Andrew of Atlanta, GA USA asks...

Once the ref blows his whistle for the kicker to start the penalty kick (not the offense, but when everyone is lined up for the kick), how much time can pass before the kicker must kick the goal?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 18 - Common Sense 6/12/2015

Jason of Burlington, VT USA asks...

I have a question that will probably sound silly, but I have wondered about it for sometime now. If a team has a goal advantage or perhaps wanted to play for a tie, would the following strategy work or even be allowed? Could a team in theory surrou...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 18 - Common Sense 6/12/2015

Matt of Bristow, VA USA asks...

A DFK is awarded to Blue in the defensive half. Blue #1 stops the ball three yards behind the spot of the foul pauses and looks for where he is going to kick it. Given that it was in the defensive half of the field, I was ok with the restart locatio...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 18 - Common Sense 4/1/2015

Simon of everywhere, queensland australia asks...

Regarding the latest "You call it" question (#38), where we ordinary referees have a chance to give advice. I have read your answer, and wiping away the verbiage, Im left to wonder why you took a particular position, on the throw-in delivered by the ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 18 - Common Sense 4/1/2015

Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...

I have a question regarding the 3rd scenario that referee Dawson mentions...i.e. a defender takes the goal kick, which leaves the penalty area and is blown back by the wind, & the goal keeper stops the ball with his/her hands with an attacker in clos...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 18 - Common Sense 4/1/2015

Monique of Spring Valley, California 91977 asks...

Blue team player has possesion of the ball and is approx 3ft from goal, keeper is clearly not likely to be able to prevent the goal due to postioning, it was a clear shot, red player defending against the goal continues challenging for possesion, is ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 18 - Common Sense 1/28/2015

Amy Lloyd of Santa Cruz, California USofA asks...

In one of a recent showcase tourney, during a full-pelt run down the left wing midfield in own half a player is challenged legally for the ball by opponents tracking at sprint speeds when a ball from an adjacent field arrives between these players. A...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 18 - Common Sense 1/26/2015

Ron of Kerrville, TX US asks...

An attacking player weaves in and out of the opponent's penalty area with the ball and is pushed down hard while one foot is in the penalty area but the ball is clearly outside. Should a PK be awarded? Likewise, if the player is clearly outside the p...

Read The Full Q & A

[Previous] [Next]

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.