Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login
[Previous] [Next]

Law 11 - Offside 3/22/2018

Aaron Speca of Virginia Beach, VA United States asks...

On this play, the player in blue is clearly ruled in offside position by the AR (on the other side, not in video) who raised his flag immediately, and the player in blue gets a clear touch on the ball. The ball does go out of bounds to white, and th...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/20/2018

Dave Bermingham of Herndon, Virginia United States asks...

Just for fun I will repeat to you the same question posed in the BBC headline to the following link, 'Have you ever seen a more blatant dive than this?'
http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/43472827

Just shows how important it is to have go...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/20/2018

Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...

Thank you for all your comments. It may have been the event that referee McHugh mentioned. It's been awhile & I had thought that the defender did not use his foot to stop the ball & had slid off the pitch.

In the video, I would certainly b...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/19/2018

Mike of Lakewood, Wa USA asks...

When a goal keeper after saving a shot and is drop kicking the ball actually doesn't make contact with the ball until he is a couple of feet outside the 18 yard box and in the penalty circle. What is the correct referees call?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/18/2018

Michael of North Bay, Ontario Canada asks...

Hello,
If there is a foul by the attacking team (Team A) inside the defensive team's (Team B) penalty area and the ball falls to another player on Team B - but still in the same penalty area - if they immediately lose possession and Team A scores...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/18/2018

Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...

This is a follow-up to Question Number: 32316. I thought that you could drop to your knees or ground to pass the ball to the keeper, as long as you hadn't placed the ball on the ground, using your feet.

In fact, I remember a La Liga game (I...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/17/2018

Kostas of Belmont, California United States asks...

Would you call a foul against the scorer of the last minute goal in Olympiacos-AEK (Feb 4 2018) seen at 5:15 in the link below?

http://www.novasports.gr/afieromata/superleague-highlights/video/50522/olubiakos-aek-1-2-hl/

Thanks!...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/17/2018

Sal Lopez of Fort Wayne, Indiana USA asks...

If a player kicks the ball in the air and deliberately heads the ball back to the keeper or gets on the ground and heads the ball back to the keeper and the keeper picks it up, is it consider a pass back and an IDFK is the appropriate action? Is the ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 3/16/2018

Andy Vasilopoulos of Maroussi, Attica Greece asks...

Hello

Your feedback has been invaluable, keep up the good work.
Going back to the PAOK-AEK offside, I have a question.
(Not about that offside call)
PAOK published an article about UEFA rules regarding offside, and has a video, t...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 3/16/2018

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

Thanks for the answers. Last question please.

In the first situation (35:30) the referee moved the spot of restart (35:55) closer to the opponent's goal (a few metres from where he raised the flag).

In the second situation (40:50) j...

Read The Full Q & A

[Previous] [Next]

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.