Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login
[Next]

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/3/2020

Refjak of Malindi, Kenya Kenya asks...

Hi!
Thank you so much for your detailed response. I have friends and senior friends that I pride over around here.

However, for the sake of a few of my hard headed fellows who will trust by seeing everything plainly inscribed by seniors ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/30/2020

Refjak of Malindi, Kenya Kenya asks...

Hi!
Law 12 directs that if you apply advantage for a 2nd caution and the offender happens to play the ball again, then you stop play, caution then send off the player and restart with an IDFK unless the player committed a *more serious offence* ....

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/30/2020

Refjak of Malindi, Kenya Kenya asks...

Hi! Sorry for being off this site for long! Coronavirus has taken away our pride, but hope football is coming back again! Two qns for today plz:

1. Law 12 allows for a quick restart in case of a cautionable or sending off offence provided th...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/12/2020

alex wong of richmond hill, ON Canada asks...

During a penalty kick, the pk taker kick the ball lightly forward for a team mate B to rush in and shoot. A defender also rushes in and hold the player B to prevent him from taking the shot. Is this considered dogso and the ref should award a penalty...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/9/2020

JAMES NEARY of LEXINGTON, SC United States asks...

Scenario:
Mid-Fielder passes the ball (with the foot) backwards and is 'intended' for the center defender who cannot make the pass due to the pace of the ball and it therefore rolls into the penalty area where the keeper picks the ball up.

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/6/2020

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

Thanks for the answers.

Explanation for Mr. Grove:

In the Czech edition of the interpretation of the rules is approximately this: 'It is also prohibited if a player takes the ball with one leg, but hits the opponent with the other l...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/5/2020

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

Hello,

this scenario, please.

Attacker is in an obvious goal-scoring opportunity. Defender's left leg/foot kicks ball away. A fraction of a second then (or at the same time) the right leg/foot of the defender hits this attacker.
Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/4/2020

Ezra Hein of Longview, TX United States asks...

In regards to the double touch that a goalkeeper might commit on a botched goal kick, I understand that an IFK is awarded to the attacking team. My question is whether there are any additional sanctions that could be given to the goalkeeper (red or y...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 2/25/2020

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

Hello,

we have three fouls of normal intensity. First from the front, second from the side and third from behind.

Which foul is more likely to be punished with a yellow card? Do you take the foul direction into account?

Th...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 2/24/2020

Russell of Sydney, Australia asks...

Broken record moment !

https://theworldgame.sbs.com.au/it-s-not-good-enough-lampard-fumes-at-var-after-lo-celso-leg-breaker

We can chalk of a goal for a foot that just happens to be in the wrong place at the wrong time (the Olivier ...

Read The Full Q & A

[Next]

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.