Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login
[Previous] [Next]

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/29/2019

Eugene of San Jose, CA US asks...

In the video linked by Referee McHugh, a couple of the situations look to me like the goalkeeper could have easily contested for the ball legally had he not misjudged his location outside of the penalty area or acted instinctively. E.g. in #9 and #6,...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/29/2019

Mary Ramirez-de-Arellano of DAMASCUS, MD United States asks...

Last weekend in a U12 boys competition one player 'bridged' over another. I can't recall who had the ball. I believe they were both vying for it. Now that I try to recall it accurately,I am pretty certain that the player on the ground was trapped ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/28/2019

David LICHTMAN of NEW ROCHELLE, NY United States asks...

Here's a link to the video:

https://twitter.com/univisionsports/status/1132384098696044545?s=21

Impossible to tell if his punch was over the line, but also hard to say if it was likely the offensive player would have likely gained a...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/28/2019

David LICHTMAN of NEW ROCHELLE, NY United States asks...

A long ball is struck by a midfielder to an onside attacker who only has the keeper in front of him. The ball takes a high bounce and the keeper leaves his line to get it. Both players converge near the edge of the box where the keeper leaps high to ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/24/2019

Shaun of Melbourne , Australia asks...

Thanks to Richard Dawson, Joe Mchugh and Peter Grove for providing me with adequate explanation and clarification.
No testing Sir, LOL I just wanted to make sure the offence not warrant a DFK (possible penalty) as some text are confusing. Cheers...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/23/2019

Shaun of Melbourne, Australia asks...

During a match a player or substitute player use offensive, insulting or abusive language towards the referee.
Based on the following circumstances, how the referee should handle the situation:
1) The ball is in play and the abusive player...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/22/2019

Derek of Cary, IL USA asks...

The goalkeeper cannot be interfered with while they possess the ball with their hands or in the process of returning the ball back into play. How much do you allow an opponent to be close to the keeper or, more importantly, jump in front while the k...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/22/2019

Shaun of Melbourne, Australia asks...

During a match between team A and B, a player of team A, which also can speak a second language (in which no other players can understand it) use offensive, insulting or abusive language towards player of team B. No reaction from player of team B as...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/21/2019

engin ataman of olympia, WA United States asks...

http://tr.beinsports.com/lig/spor-toto-super-lig/ozet/2018-2019/15/galatasaray-2-2-caykur-rizespor-mac-ozeti

at 3:24 green jersey scores after a corner kick but referee claims obstruction to goalkeeper and disallows the goal.

Could ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/21/2019

engin ataman of olympia, WA United States asks...

http://tr.beinsports.com/lig/spor-toto-super-lig/ozet/2018-2019/33/trabzonspor-2-1-besiktas-mac-ozeti

starting at 19th second of the video. there is a handball situation. what is your take on this?

Thank you as always.
...

Read The Full Q & A

[Previous] [Next]

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.