Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/15/2019

Matthew Gibson of Sydney, New South Wales Australia asks...

As a goalkeeper I charged out and punched away a ball that was crossed into the box. As I punched the ball away I collected the opposition striker who was half my size so he came off 2nd best. Ref gave me a yellow card and awarded them a penalty for ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/12/2019

Peter Shaw of Paget, Paget Bermuda asks...

When the goalkeeper takes the ball in their hands, during play, how long do they have before releasing the ball. I know they can take as many steps as they want but often they seem to take a lot of time before putting it back into play. ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/12/2019

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

Thank you for your answers.

I saw in low level league similar situation last week. Ref went back to the place A. He explained, that the ball touch was before the foul. Therefore the advantage is over. The foul came after.

I underst...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/10/2019

Melvin H. of Colorado Springs, Colorado U. S. A. asks...

I thought I read that, starting either 2017/18 or 2018/18, that non-players"coaches, trainers, managers, etc."will be shown yellow or red cards.
Is this true, and if so what rule is this under?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/10/2019

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...


my question is about advantage and place of restart.

Player A is fouled and passes ball to his teammate B. Defender touches this ball and at the same time (or after a while) fouls player B. Where is place of re...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/10/2019

Gary of nashua, nh usa asks...

It seems that a growing number of players/coaches believe any type of shoulder contact is legal. I have always been taught that reckless and even red card offenses can occur with any body part. To me, a legal shoulder challenge involves an attempt to...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/8/2019

Jak of Malindi, Kenya asks...

Immediately after the whistle for halftime break, blue 4 takes off his jersey as he walks outside the field of play. Is there a caution for this observation? And if there is, where exactly in the LOTG is this found?
Thanks in advance!...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/7/2019

Greg Kall of Hillsborough , CA Usa asks...

Interpreted to the letter of the law, then play could continue until that extra player actually interferes with play. However, what if the team with the numerical advantage scores, with that extra player not having interfered with play?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/2/2019

gary of nashua, nh usa asks...

Had an instance in a game the other day in which I played advantage on a handball about 30 yards from attackers goal, only for about a second later for the attacker to handle themselves. I awarded the kick to the defended team. Thoughts......

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/29/2019

Eugene of San Jose, CA US asks...

In the video linked by Referee McHugh, a couple of the situations look to me like the goalkeeper could have easily contested for the ball legally had he not misjudged his location outside of the penalty area or acted instinctively. E.g. in #9 and #6,...

Read The Full Q & A


Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.