Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login
[Previous] [Next]

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/1/2018

John Lubeck of Livermore, CA United States asks...

Croatia Denmark Round of 16
An absolutely clear and unequivocal DOGSO. YC given. Statements abound that the rules have changed. I read the 2018/19 Law of the Game. The only change I see is that IF ADVANTAGE is played a YC is given whether a go...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/1/2018

Chris Thomas of Fairfield, CA United States asks...

What has changed in the Laws of the Game that allowed a yellow card to be issued to Denmark during their match with Croatia when a goal scoring goal opportunity was denied by a penal foul in the box? More importantly, how did the VAR referees not s...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/1/2018

Al Fiero of Syracuse, New York USA asks...

If an opponent has a hand ball in the box and the ball rolls into the goal... is it a self goal or a handball? I would say it should warrant a penalty kick because a hand ball immdiately effects the course of play.
97478...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/1/2018

Matthew Plodinec of Bristow, VA United States asks...

Curious as to your view on the handling pk in the Russia/Spain match. The Spanish player attempted to head the ball and the player behind him headed it off his arm from behind. I have said at this level nothing is unintentional, but this seems almos...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/29/2018

Russell of Sydney, Australia asks...

In the reply to Petr of Prague question on collisions " which is a great question on foul recognition " I am confused a little by some aspects of the replies by the panel.
Overall I am in line with the panels assessments and considerations, howe...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/26/2018

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

Hello,

first situation from today's WC match Denmark - France. The situation is about the collision of two players.

Video 1 (2nd half, video time 10:36, match time 55:05)
http://footballfullmatch.com/world-cup/denmark-vs-france...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/25/2018

Salvador Flores of Indianapolis, IN United States asks...

Question 1: So I had a question on deliberate handling, if a player is trying to trap the ball with his or her thigh or even foot and he or she has his or her hands wide open and the ball deflects off her thigh or foot to one of his or her arms, is i...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/25/2018

Murphy of SB, USA asks...

Hi am a referee and a player, and I saw a goalie dribble a ball from out of the box and bring it in to the box, then pick it up. It was not a pass from a teammate, and the ref did not call anything. I am sure that was a legal play, but I just would l...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/24/2018

Mike Flanigan of Monticello, Minnesota United States asks...

My daughter just played in a game in which the opposing team was literally pushing our goalie during a corner kick. I was under the impression that this was penality, unfortunately nothing was called & they scored. Just wondering if the ref blew the ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/24/2018

Barry Stewart of Chilliwack, BC Canada asks...

A play that almost happened in a recent game got me thinking 'what if?'

Picture a defender on the goal line out near the corner of the penalty area. He's inside the PA and no other players are near him. A wild shot by the attackers is clearl...

Read The Full Q & A

[Previous] [Next]

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.