Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login
[Previous] [Next]

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/1/2017

Salvador Flores of Ligonier, IN United States asks...

Question 1:
If an attacking player is dribbling the ball inside the penalty area and a a defender is running just behind the attacking, but the defender slips and trips the attacking, is it a foul on the attacker?
Question 2:
Should you ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/31/2017

Anthony Bailey of Hamilton, Paget Bermuda asks...

Law 12 Advantage:

If a player commits an offense that warrants a yellow card but the ref plays the advantage and as play continues the same offending player gets involved in active play by challenging for the ball should play be stopped and ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/31/2017

Barry Stewart of Chilliwack, BC Canada asks...

I agree, the red for the defender's handling was harsh.

As a ref, I am a stickler for not barging from behind, as the attacker did here in contacting the defender's shoulder blade. That would have been my first call, though I suspect at this...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/31/2017

Rich of London, London United Kingdom asks...

Hi, thanks for your help with this.

A player on Team A is moving towards the ball, but has his path impeded by a stationary member of Team B. Is it foul by the player on Team B?

To add some context; the player on Team B is aware t...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/30/2017

Muhammad Rizwan of Abbottabad, Abbottabad Pakistan asks...

Sir, During the match of Athletic Bilbao v. FC Barcelona on 10/28/17, Umtiti got booked for time wasting. After when referee cautioned Umtiti he just clapped and smile was referee should had it convert into Red card as another yellow? ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/30/2017

Sal Flores of Ligonier, Indiana United States asks...

Question 1: I have a question about this kind of play. The referee called a foul, but should the referee give a red card for the attacking player kicking the defender even the attacking player never saw the defender coming?
https://twitter.com/Un...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/30/2017

Rob of Allen, Texas United States asks...

If there is a pass from the offense to a streaking forward and the defender beats the offender to the ball, is the first to strike the ball away and gain position, where no possession has occurred yet...and there is minor incidental contact between p...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/30/2017

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

Hello,
I have two DOGSO videos from Bundesliga.

Video 1 (in time 0:00)
http://footyroom.com/matches/79942323/vfb-stuttgart-vs-freiburg/review

Video 2 (in time 0:30)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vyrX67crhKM

Pl...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/30/2017

Ahmed of Karachi, Pakistan asks...

Hello, I wanted to ask if a player commits a foul during a move but the referee plays advantage and waves play-on but then the same player goes on to foul again later in that very move, does that count as only one yellow or should the referee give tw...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/29/2017

Roberta Pelfrey of BATTLE CREEK, Michigan United States asks...

When a goalie catches a soccer ball from going in the net, can a player from the opposing team run into her and shove her down? I always thought that the other team was not supposed to touch the goalie while she was at her post but not in the net....

Read The Full Q & A

[Previous] [Next]

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.