Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login
[Previous] [Next]

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/26/2017

Mike Timber of Sydney, NSW Australia asks...

If a defender passes back to keeper, and it hits the ref with speed and changes direction, can the keeper use his hands to stop the ball? And also if a defender uses his knee to pass back to the keeper, can the keeper pick it up?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/25/2017

Charlie Silver-Burr of Worthing, United Kingdom asks...

We had a free kick given in the dying seconds today seemingly given for timewasting. Is this ok?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/24/2017

Mike of Montreal, Qc Canada asks...

Whistle is blown for half time. As team A is walking off the pitch, two teammates get into a heated debate. While still on the field of play, one of the teammates slaps the other one.
Red card is issued to the slapper. No other sanctions are iss...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/23/2017

Muhammad Rizwan of Abbottabad, Abbottabad Pakistan asks...

General Question in my Mind.. ! Sir, if the ball is out of penalty area but in play and two players doing serious offence in the penalty area which was started by the defender what decision should referee made? a PK or DFK.. In offence / Foul the pos...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/23/2017

Peter of totnes, DEVON United Kingdom asks...

Thank you for your responses! They certainly address the issue. I'm wondering whether there is any specific clause in the rule book that applies to this situation: Would the referee be strictly obliged to award a free kick due to no advantage accruin...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/22/2017

Eugene of San Jose, CA USA asks...

A red attacker was sprinting up the field with the ball, pushing it a couple of feet in front of her on the dribble. A blue defender came hard from the side and placed herself between the attacker and the ball, with her back to the attacker. The atta...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/22/2017

peter of Totnes, Devon United Kingdom asks...

The referee sees an infringement, but waves play-on to allow the advantage. The fouled team don't feel that the advantage would be a better scoring opportunity than a free-kick - they're not a great team, but they've got a great spot-kick taker - so ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/20/2017

Joe PLAZIUK of Orewa, Auckland New Zealand asks...

Ball cleared from the penalty area; well up the field. Attacker & defender get in a 'tangle' before they've left the penalty area. Linesman flags referee he has seen an infringement - by this time the ball has gone out of play.He advises referee he s...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/20/2017

Muhammad Rizwan of Abbottabad, Abbottabad Pakistan asks...

R/Sir,
During a Match here when a goalkeeper caught the ball in his hand and just keep it on the ground to fixing his boot lace without informing a referee and when opponent came near to him he just picked the ball up again in his hands.. what y...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/20/2017

Sasha of SF, California United States asks...

Hey many, a quick question: during the corner kick, can referee call penalty kick for players holding and pushing BEFORE the corner kick has been taken, meaning the player is about to take it but still didn't kick the ball back into play. Does that c...

Read The Full Q & A

[Previous] [Next]

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.