Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login
[Next]

Law 16 - The Goal Kick 9/17/2019

Barry Stewart of Chilliwack, BC Canada asks...

Panelist Peter Grove says (of the keeper's double-touch on the goal kick), 'However under the latest version of the IFAB's Laws of the Game, at a goal kick the ball is in play as soon as it is kicked and clearly moves so in a game played under these ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 16 - The Goal Kick 9/7/2019

Paul Brown of Aspley Guise, BEDS United Kingdom asks...

With the new rule change that a goal kick does not need to leave the area - but attacking team must be outside the area; I have already seen a situation where the keeper passes to a defender in the area, who crouches and heads the ball back to the ke...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 16 - The Goal Kick 8/23/2019

Tony of Leeds, England asks...

With the new goal kick law where it doesnt have to leave the area .
If a goalkeeper takes a goal kick and flicks it to a defender in the box and he heads it back to the keeper can he then pick it up and kick it out of his hands ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 16 - The Goal Kick 8/6/2019

Eugene of San Jose, CA US asks...

Now that the ball is live as soon as it's kicked on the goal kick, would you give an IFK for the accidental double touch, like Joe Hart did a few seasons ago https://gfycat.com/generalmeatydungenesscrab-askareferee-soccer ? ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 16 - The Goal Kick 8/4/2019

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

Thanks! But one IFAB sentence confuses me more and more:-)

This sentence:'Players who DELIBERATELY REMAIN INSIDE or enter the penalty area before the kick is taken should not gain an unfair advantage, even if the KICK IS TAKEN QUICKLY.'
...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 16 - The Goal Kick 8/3/2019

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

One additional question to IFAB goal kick clarification please.

Situation: Player deliberately enters (or remains inside) penalty area before the ball is in play. When the ball is in play he challenges for this ball. Is the goal kick retaken...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 16 - The Goal Kick 8/3/2019

Mike of Wichita, Ks USA asks...

The goal kick: a defender takes the goal kick. He chips it directly to the goalie who catches it. The play is not called a hand ball. What is the official rule on this?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 16 - The Goal Kick 7/30/2019

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

Hello,

I have 'back pass rule' situations. First is from today's Champions League match Olympiacos vs. Plzen.

Situation 1: Goalkeeper takes goal kick. Teammate returns ball by chest to his hands. It happened repeatedly and the refer...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 16 - The Goal Kick 7/8/2019

John Nagel of Wilmette, IL USA asks...

I attended US v. Mexico Gold Cup final yesterday and was really surprised to see the CR completely ignore the required procedure for goal kicks. The team taking the kick would have a second player receive the ball from the keeper well inside the pen...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 16 - The Goal Kick 6/21/2019

Tony of Whitehorse, Yukon Canada asks...

In the Copa America game between Chile and Ecuador, in the 45th minute first half, there was a goal kick awarded to Chile and the goalie took the goal kick directly 2 a teammate located inside the penalty area. In other words the ball did not go outs...

Read The Full Q & A

[Next]

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.