Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login
[Previous] [Next]

Law 16 - Goal Kick 4/10/2015

Andy Yates of Plymouth , Devon England asks...

I'm a goalkeeper, the other day my centre half came to take a six yard kick, I placed the ball down and played it short to the left back. The referee made us retake the kick as he said the centre half wasn't allowed to be in the box. Was he right?<...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 16 - Goal Kick 3/1/2015

Jen of Camden, SC USA asks...

As a matter of trivia, our select coach has informed our players of an obscure rule that allows a defensive player to kick the ball out of bounds yet still be awarded a goal kick. The clue was 'it is all about location: look it up'. We have Google'd ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 16 - Goal Kick 2/9/2015

Michael Esparza of Huntington beach, California Orange asks...

The ball has gone out of play for a goal kick. the goalkeeper places the ball on left lets go and then decides to pick it up and move it to the other side . the referee gives the keeper a yellow card and an indirect free kick . now i know there are o...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 16 - Goal Kick 2/1/2015

slocookie of San Luis Obispo, United States asks...

A goal kick is kicked out of bounds within the penalty area from which the kick was made. (The kicker's foot slipped and the angle was way off. You never expect it to go behind the box. Very strange¦ not one of my referee friends has seen this and al...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 16 - Goal Kick 1/24/2015

Phil of Bexley, Kent UK asks...

Can a GK score a goal from a goal kick? Ie. one big kick I was on the understanding that if the ball passes through the pitch with no other player touching it not even the opposition GK and it goes in that the GKick has to be retaken?

Read The Full Q & A

Law 16 - Goal Kick 1/12/2015


Just this past weekend my goalie placed the ball down to take a goal kick. Picked it back up and placed the ball back down on the other side of the goal box. The ref called a foul and indirect kick was given and the other team was able to place the b...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 16 - Goal Kick 12/15/2014

tim johnson of valdosta, GA US asks...

On a goal kick the ball was kicked and did not make it outside the penalty area; a player then picked up the ball and was called for a hand ball inside the box (free kick for opposing team); since the ball never left the penalty area my belief was th...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 16 - Goal Kick 12/6/2014

pete of floral park, ny usa asks...

hi refs,
when a team has a goal kick i know the ball has to leave the penaty area for it to be in play, my question is if a team has a free kick in their own penalty area do the same rules apply as a goal kick or can a player pass it to a teamate...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 16 - Goal Kick 11/10/2014

david morris of seal beach, ca usa asks...

On a goal kick, if the kicker takes the kick prior to all attackers exciting the penalty area... I.e. a fast restart for tactical reasons... is the restart good or does it have to be redone?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 16 - Goal Kick 9/22/2014

Eddie Odom of leesburg, ga usa asks...

Red team kicks ball out past blue teams goal. Blue team sets up a goal kick. Can red team attack the ball and kick in a goal once goalkeeper sets ball down for a goalkick? If not how does this work?...

Read The Full Q & A

[Previous] [Next]

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.