Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login
[Next]

Law 8 - The Start and Restart of Play 10/16/2018

Steve of gillingham, uk asks...

With regard to the new kick off rule whereby the ball can be played backwards from kick off - does this apply to mini soccer rules as the English FA's mini soccer rules still says the ball must be kicked forward...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - The Start and Restart of Play 9/26/2018

George of Parangarecutirimicuaro, CA Sacratomato asks...

Goalie sprints to the nearby field to retrieve a ball that has been awarded to opposing team for a corner kick. The older bother, who has been pleading he get back to the box, meets him and pushes him to get back into the goal. Little brother turns a...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - The Start and Restart of Play 8/20/2018

Bill cansick of Harwich, Essex England asks...

Years ago the two captains would meet in the cntre circle and the ref would toss a coin . Sometimes the teams would then swap ends. This never happens now. Is the direction of the play decided before the game now?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - The Start and Restart of Play 7/9/2018

Barry Stewart of Chilliwack, BC Canada asks...

Drop ball to keeper question. At about 90 minutes in the Russia-Croatia game, there was a collision or something that caused the ref to stop play when the Croatia keeper had the ball in his hands.

Once things were settled, the ref simply dro...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - The Start and Restart of Play 6/30/2018

Ivan Cardona of Hallandale, Fl Usa asks...

Does the referee need to blow the whistle on a dropped ball restart. I ask since it's called and play atopped with a whistle a whistle is needed to restart. I get told Diffrent ways but I see in the world cup the referees don't whistle on dropped bal...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - The Start and Restart of Play 6/18/2018

Mr Richard Kap Kaplowitz of Frederick, MD United States asks...

On a referee forum someone posted that in the Portugal-Spain game 1 player for Portugal stayed on the field during the goal celebration so that Spain could not take a kickoff.

Where in the LOTG is a requirement that all of a team save one pr...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - The Start and Restart of Play 6/1/2018

Russell of Sydney, Australia asks...

Following on this thread ...so if a player at a DB does dribble and score without the second person touch - what and where is the restart.

Is it IDFK on the goal area line in a location related to where the ball entered the goal ?

...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - The Start and Restart of Play 5/30/2018

Raymond of SAN FRANCISCO, CA United States asks...

Thank you for clarifying, gentlemen, and my bad for working off an old version of the LOTG! (Memo to self--before bothering the committee, go to IFAB and read carefully the latest edition, looking in particular at underlined segments of the laws ;-)!...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - The Start and Restart of Play 5/29/2018

Raymond of SAN FRANCISCO, CA United States asks...

Hi gentlemen. I've got a question about dropped balls. The way I understand Law 8, dropped balls are unique in being the only restart where the player who makes first contact with the ball can make additional touches before anyone else plays the ball...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - The Start and Restart of Play 4/22/2018

Mark Fischer of Armonk, NY USA asks...

In a U14 EDP game, the referee mistakenly blew the whistle. S/he restarted play with a dropped ball 3 feet outside of the box to one side of the goal (not on the line parallel to the goal line). The question came to me whether the dropped ball should...

Read The Full Q & A

[Next]

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.