Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login
[Previous] [Next]

Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play 2/25/2016

Victoria of Rowlett, Texas United States of America asks...

What is the correct restart if the play must be stopped for an injured player that wasn't fouled....

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play 1/25/2016

Paul of Milton, ON Canada asks...

On a dropped ball, the LOTG state that a goal cannot be scored directly. However, would the goal count if a player receives the ball from a dropped ball, dribble it for 5-10 seconds then kicks the ball towards goal and it enters the goal without it ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play 1/19/2016

Russell of Sydney, Australia asks...

I have read elsewhere that the LOTG are being updated, and that one amend will be the change to the kick off procedure where the ball will not have to be kicked forward. it can be kicked in any direct - as long as it moves.
Have you heard of this...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play 12/10/2015

Brad of Plymouth, Michigan United States asks...

White attacker with the ball at his feet makes a move to get by black defender in the penalty area. Attacker dribbles to goal with several defenders converging between him and goal. As he prepares to shoot he is tripped by the recovering beaten def...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play 11/23/2015

Laura of :), VA USA asks...

In my last question I explained how I'd gotten my first yellow card for standing in font of the ball during a free-kick. Thank you so much for the answers! I was just very confused by the ref because his reasoning for why the opposing team had been a...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play 11/10/2015

PAUL HERTELENDY of Berkeley, CA USA asks...

A player goes down with an injury. When the ref whistles the stop-play, Team A clearly has possession. When play resumes, the ref feeds the ball to a Team A player for the 'drop ball' in order to resume. Two Q's: 1. Can that player dribble the ball, ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play 11/10/2015

W Hidalgo of Harrison, NJ USA asks...

According to Law 8 and Law 14, the ball has to be kick forward to start play, does this applies to Law 13? To my understanding a Kick-off and a Penalty kick are both on essence a 'Free Kick', you can score from both, or can I back-heel a Free / Indir...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play 10/6/2015

anon of altadena, ca usa asks...

I disagree with the statement by Mr. McHugh regarding simultaneous touches on a ball going of play in which he states, 'Now the technical answer is that the referee can go with a dropped ball.' The (apparently now defunct) US ATR said specifically t...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play 9/17/2015

dan of vienna, va us asks...

Can you allow advantage to the defensive team for a kickoff taken backwards?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play 9/14/2015

Mary Ramirez-de-Arellano of DAMASCUS, Maryland USA asks...

You answered my previous question almost completely. It was question about restarting a game when a player has gone down while his teammate is dribbling the ball toward the goal.
If the player with the ball dribbling toward the goal is inside t...

Read The Full Q & A

[Previous] [Next]

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.