Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login
[Previous] [Next]

Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play 10/26/2014

Chris of Folsom, Ca Sacramento asks...

If the ball was for a throw in and the ref stopped play to attend to the injured, the restart will be a throw-in. Why can't the goalie be allowed to punt the ball since he/she had the ball when stopped by the ref?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play 10/23/2014

Eli Holmes of Seattle, WA USA asks...

What should the referee do if on a goal kick, the GK or defender taking the kick is unable to clear the ball out of the penalty area on one kick? This time of year in Seattle, we get heavy rain and grass fields are so wet that the ball will not roll...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play 10/22/2014

Tom Marshall of Farmington, ME USA asks...

During a recent game, the goalie had possession of the ball in his hands and was positioning himself for a drop kick within his penalty area. I noticed that an opposing player was down and injured elsewhere on the field so I stopped play so that the ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play 10/20/2014

Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...

Hi:
I noticed that referee Dennis Wickham said that a goal could not be scored until at least 2 players touched the ball. Since there is no 2nd touch violation on a dropped ball, couldn't one player score a goal by touching it twice? i.e. 2 kic...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play 10/15/2014

john of Madrid, NY USA asks...

Can the referee penalize unsporting conduct and award an indirect without giving a card? (If, in the referee's judgement, the free kick will accomplish the desired effect as he feels the addition of a card is too harsh.)...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play 10/14/2014

Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...

Referee Dawson said that, if you catch the mistake during play, you could stop play, send the player off, & restart with an IFK. I could not find where the LOTG say that you start with an IFK. I would have thought that it would be a dropped ball, s...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play 9/16/2014

David of LA, california USA asks...

hi all. my question is the offical restart in regards to an injury.

Say blue team has the ball and i blew the whistle because a red player is down because of a recent play. what would be the restart ?

Thanks...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play 9/12/2014

Jimmy of Houston, Texas US asks...

In the quiz number 1 refer to questions 43 & 44, both misconducts happend outside of the fields but one is IFK and another is a drop ball?

Here are the questions and answers:
___________________________________________
The Question w...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play 9/9/2014

Paul of Milton, Ontario Canada asks...

If a referee blows the whistle to stop play because of an injury on the field, is the restart ALWAYS a dropped ball, assuming there was NO foul or other infringement? Would there be any reason that it could be an IFK?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play 8/8/2014

James Lawson of Dronfield, Derbyshire England asks...

Can there be a drop ball inside the goal area (6 yard box)?...

Read The Full Q & A

[Previous] [Next]

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.