Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login
[Previous] [Next]

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 8/8/2012

Scott a of Huntsville, Alabama Usa asks...

Can a player have both feet out of bounds and kick the ball back into the field off play. Is the only consideration whether the ball is fully across the line...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 6/6/2012

Doug Farinelli of Springfield, VA USA asks...

If a player stop the ball from going out of bounds using a surface of the body that is out of bounds (i.e. ball is on the line thus inside touch will have the body surface out of bounds) is the call out of bounds?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 6/5/2012

Mohammed of baghdad, baghdad iraq asks...

Dear Sir,
I have few questions and I'll be grateful if you can reply.
1) The corner area has a curve to show you where the ball should be played from. why is it a curve not a straight line?

2) If we have a corner kick for team A, a p...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 5/8/2012

Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...

Let's say the blue GK kicks the ball & it glances off a red player & goes over the touch line. Although the AR raises the flag & trots toward the 18, a blue player, realizing the ref didn't see it, does a quick throw in. Does that mean it's too late...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 4/23/2012

jeb of vero beach, fl usa asks...

A player shoots and the keeper who is right on the goal line, catches the ball above his head. The AR sees that the whole ball crossed the line and signals that a goal has been scored but the referee doesn't see the AR's signal and play continues. Th...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 4/16/2012

Graham of London, UK asks...

There will be times when a player leaves the field of play briefly as a natural part of the game, through his momentum for example. Now let us suppose that player prevents the ball crossing the touchline or goal line while he is still off the pitch....

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 3/17/2012

Kathy of Creedmoor, nc usa asks...

Ball was kicked over the side line in the air (slightly) and the wind was blowing and ball landed on the white line. I called it still in play and another player stated since it went over the line in the air, it was out. Who was correct? Me or oth...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 12/20/2011

Jeremy Croshaw of Balgonie, Saskatchewan Canada asks...

My question deals with the keeper handling the ball. If the keeper has the ball in his hands but steps out of bounds at the back line but the ball is still in play is that out of bounds? Same for the top of the box. If the keeper has the ball in h...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 12/18/2011

Sarah Stock of Redondo beach, Ca. USA asks...

Here's my situation,
Goalie grabs the ball at the top of the 18 after a shot. Goalie gets pretty close to stepping over the line so the ref blows his whistle (I think for a hand ball at top of box), he then decides that that's not the call and si...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 10/23/2011

Jim Janszen of Cinti, OH USA asks...

A goalkeeper makes a save, but his legs and feet are clearly out of bounds but the ball remains in bounds. Does goalkeeper maintain possession or should there be a corner kick awarded?...

Read The Full Q & A

[Previous] [Next]

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.