Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login
[Previous] [Next]

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 5/17/2016

Richard of Oxford, Oxfordshire UK asks...

A player makes a tackle and wins the ball cleanly but the ball is going out of play for a throw to the opposition. Before the ball has completely crossed the touch line it hits the linesman's foot and stays in play .What should be given ?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 3/5/2016

Calvin Smith of Beaverton, Oregon United State asks...

The ref blew her whistle because of an offside. After the whistle a player going for the ball kicked it into the goal anyway and the ref called it a good goal. How can that be? ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 11/22/2015

Bob of Ft Lauderdale , FL USA asks...

If two opposing players go to the ground in a collision and Team A's player has clear control of the loose ball. The official stops play to attend to the players. Is play resumed with an indirect free kick for Team A? Or is it a drop ball at the sit...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 11/21/2015

Russ B of Beaumont, California United States asks...

Maybe I misunderstood the question so Just to follow up on the initial question which says that 'the penalty kick is about to be taken' why isnt a penality kick awarded.

A penality kick can not be awarded since the ball is not in play.
Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 10/22/2015

Brian K of Brooklyn, NY USA asks...

Hello Gents,

What a great resource you collectively are-many thanks!

My scenario and question...

Ball goes into touch,linesman calls it but ref doesn't see his raised flag.Play continues and a goal is scored before ref eith...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 10/7/2015

Derek of Cary, IL USA asks...

The ball is booted into the air and hits an overhanging tree and is otherwise still on the field. Should we stop play since this 'outside agent' interfered with play? What would be the restart?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 10/5/2015

Bret Good of Mission Viejo, California United States asks...

What do you do when you are not sure of which play kicked the ball out of play? ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 9/12/2015

Paul of Newbury Park, CA USA asks...

The Red team throws the ball in and it rolls along the touch line for ten feet and rolls out completely off the field not touching the line. The AR standing next to the ball signals for a throw in for Black as the ball was deemed in and then out.

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 8/31/2015

kevin of steamboat springs, colorado usa asks...

Recently i was reffing a u14 game. A player was given a threw ball and taken out by the goalie ( a foul on the goalie). The ball popped out and went directly to an attacking player who scored. The problem is (in fear of injury as the collision loo...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 5/25/2015

DJ of Austin, tx USA asks...

If a ball comes from the field hits the crossbar and lands back in play is it considered 'out of bounds'?

My daughter had a game winning goal removed in an ECNL contest. Turns out the side judge that called played for the opposing club las...

Read The Full Q & A

[Previous] [Next]

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.