Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login
[Previous] [Next]

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 12/20/2011

Jeremy Croshaw of Balgonie, Saskatchewan Canada asks...

My question deals with the keeper handling the ball. If the keeper has the ball in his hands but steps out of bounds at the back line but the ball is still in play is that out of bounds? Same for the top of the box. If the keeper has the ball in h...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 12/18/2011

Sarah Stock of Redondo beach, Ca. USA asks...

Here's my situation,
Goalie grabs the ball at the top of the 18 after a shot. Goalie gets pretty close to stepping over the line so the ref blows his whistle (I think for a hand ball at top of box), he then decides that that's not the call and si...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 10/23/2011

Jim Janszen of Cinti, OH USA asks...

A goalkeeper makes a save, but his legs and feet are clearly out of bounds but the ball remains in bounds. Does goalkeeper maintain possession or should there be a corner kick awarded?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 10/23/2011

David Aronson of Goleta, Ca UAS asks...

I was the center ref when the ball went out of play, but I didn't see it. The Line ref saw it got out of play pass the goal line and he raised his flag, but i did not see it until the attacking team scored. at that point I noticed the Line Ref's flag...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 10/3/2011

Andrea Berg of Collins, Iowa USA asks...

The player is running toward the ball and it bounces up never hits the ground barley right outside the line, player was able to get to it while the ball was still in the air and kick it back in. Would this still be considered out? ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 6/19/2011

Steve M. Marquez of La Mirada, CA USA asks...

In a pool play match, both teams are advancing to the next round. It is a tie match so far and both teams are comfortable if it should end with that outcome. GK has possession (with her feet) of live ball, dribbles to top of PA and stands there. Doi...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 5/6/2011

Brant Kelly of High Point, NC USA asks...

Goalie runs out to cover a ball near the box line. He slides to cover the ball and in the process his body leaves the penalty box but the ball never leaves the box. Goalie makes sure the ball never leaves the box while he is standing up.
Foul or ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 4/17/2011

Mario of El Paso , TX United States asks...

Does a ref need to blow the whistle everytime the ball is brought into play from the sideline?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 3/21/2011

Rajan of Van Nuys, California usa asks...

Team A attacker enters the penalty area with the ball and is taken down by Team B defender for a clear penalty kick for Team A. However before the ref has a chance to whistle and signal for a penalty kick Team A attacker, as he is down or going down,...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 3/21/2011

Bob of Sydney, NSW Australia asks...

Can I award a free kick without having first blown my whistle to stop play?
This sounds a bit of a weird one but let me explain.

This was a heated U18's cup game with the score at one all, 10 minutes to go. A defender and attacker collid...

Read The Full Q & A

[Previous] [Next]

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.