Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field
The Ball
Number of Players
Players Equipment
The Referee
Assistant Referee
Duration of Play
Start / Restart
The Ball In/Out of Play
Method of Scoring
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login
[Next]

Law 15 - Throw In 1/14/2015

Brian Auer of Pittsburgh, PA USA asks...

The answer to You Call It #35 [foul throw because thrower never completed the substitution procedure] includes the following:

'A substitution problem like this should never occur because the AR should have the flag held horizontal above the ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 15 - Throw In 12/30/2014

Glenn of Newbury Park, CA USA asks...

I see it now.
The first whistle and corresponding arm signal prior to the TI being taken was to instruct the player to back up.
Personally, I prefer to use a series of short blasts to get a players attention and point to the location where ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 15 - Throw In 12/28/2014

Glenn of Newbury Park, CA USA asks...

Today in the 78' of Man Utd v Spurs, a throw in was awarded to Man U. Rafael stole a few yards from where referee Moss had pointed for the restart to occur.
Before the TI was taken the referee blew his whistle and awarded the TI to Spurs.
Ca...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 15 - Throw In 12/22/2014

Geoff Keller of Vancouver, WA United States asks...

I have a question om foot placement of thrower during a throw in. It says both feet must be on the ground. That part is clear. The question comes in how much contact of the line with the 'front' foot is allowed. If the foot is 'on the line', is any p...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 15 - Throw In 12/21/2014

Jimmy Kalert of Carbondale, IL USA asks...

Thank you guys, Forgot to mention there was a penalty kick awarded to the opposing team for this. I have friends who are parents on the opposing team that had a better view of the play and they have disagreed with their coach and informed him but i...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 15 - Throw In 12/11/2014

Muhammad musa Mallam-Madori of Mallam Madori, Jigawa Nigeria asks...

When a player throw the ball and the ball goes to the net and crossed the goalline,was it a goal?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 15 - Throw In 11/22/2014

Russell Montgomery of Sydney, NSW Australia asks...

With regard to the throw in - Ref McHugh. makes the suggestion "
If the referee was unsure of the direction of the throw in he could also start with a dropped ball and allow the team to either contest it or not.
I have never heard of this ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 15 - Throw In 11/13/2014

Manoj Kumar M of Palakkad (Dist), Kerala India asks...

I took a free kick and the ball hit the opponent team goal post and went for throw. The throw belongs to which team ?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 15 - Throw In 11/11/2014

Clive Evans of Pranburi, Prachuapkhirikhan Thailand asks...

When the ball goes out for a throw in why do officials permit the throw to be taken at another point from where the ball went out? I saw a recent English premier league game where the ball went out after hitting the corner flag but the assistant watc...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 15 - Throw In 11/10/2014

pete of floral park, new york usa asks...

Hi Guys,
I always enjoy reading your answers to difficult questions, my question is if a player fails to get the ball into play from a throw in it is retaken why does the same rule not apply to corner kicks i see kids kicking the ball on a corner...

Read The Full Q & A

[Next]

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.