Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

You Call It Q&A August 2017

Mrref

July 2017 QUESTION
Player passes the ball back to his keeper deliberately using his foot the ball apparently rolls over the outstretched foot of an opponent the keeper picks the ball up . Referee blow for the INDFK for illegal use of hands thinking the ball bounced over the foot but did not touch it. The keeper is incensed claiming the ball was off the opponent's foot and spikes the ball . A quick thinking attacker grabs it places it on the ground outside the PA and passes it a team mate who scores . Referee is going to award the goal, opposition are going ballistic, keeper is shown a yellow card possible red card for offinabuse to others. The near AR has shaken his head and was heard uttering that the keeper was right the ball did touch the opponent's foot.
Your Match your Decision Your Reputation!

July 2017 ANSWER
This question raises several key issues. In cases of the INDFK for this keeper handling infraction we recommend that it ALWAY be ceremonial one simply because a gift of a scoring opportunity from relatively nothing is being offered. We have a great deal of difficult declaring the restart spot trifling given the infringement can ONLY occur when the ball is INSIDE the PA boundary lines! At the very least part of the ball should be on the boundary line to be declare inside the PA. Blade of grass restart , caution to the keeper, auto park into ceremonial, time for review such an easy game if we do not make it hard on our selves!

Still the mess is what it is! The facts are hazy as to legality but referee discretion could permit the goal.
Good goal restart with a kick off!
The CR felt the defenders switched off ,
The CR did nothing to interfere
The keeper was foolish to spike the ball & argue
The restart location was close enough in his opinion
The INDFK protocol was followed for what he believed was a deliberate kick to the keeper. He saw what he saw and was satisfied there was no touch by the opponent! Despite the AR thinking different. It does not matter if the AR KNOWS different unless the CR agrees. BUT in no way shape or form is the interchange of information between the two officials was a correct, proper or useful endeavour! The communication between the CR & AR was ludicrous at best and some post game talk must address the way information was transmitted!

Lastly lets examine denying the goal as an improper restart thus not award the goal . Could the CR CHANGE his mind based on the AR input? Possibly but why, if he called it he was obviously close enough to discount the AR input OTHERWISE he would have sought it out! The flippant AR for scandalizing the restart may well have created huge conflict not something ARs need to be doing! Silent signal, quiet talk THEN let the chips fall, here we are bag crushing under the tires! sigh. Still a drop ball for an inadvertent whistle should the CR approve of this incredible observation that he missed??, Are we still going to caution keeper and now the other team may also be a hollering sigh. Ugly just turned into uglier at this drop because will the one team back off or do we have two peeved teams ready to whack a mole?
As always Your Match Your Decision Your Reputation

Call for Papers

We are calling for papers on...

Funny Stories while refereeing

Managing the Sidelines (Parents, Coaches and Fans)


If you would like to submit an article for publication on AskTheRef.com please email your article to mrref@asktheref.com. In the subject line put article submission.



Editorial Guidelines

Your article must be soccer referee, or laws related.

The article must be your work. Please do not send us articles that you do not have reprint permission for.

Please proof and spell check your work.

You must include a short BIO at the end of your article stating your name, licenses, affiliations and a brief history of your experience.

If you have any questions you may contact MrRef

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.