Law 1 Field of Play
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
Question 51 thru 60 of 6998

[Previous] [Next]

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/14/2024

David E Frankson of Oregon, WI United States asks...

Recent game, varsity H.S. game, well played by two high level opponents. I was AR1. Question relates to GK possession and safety. Scenario: Corner kick by Team A from AR1 corner. Ball lofts high in the air and will land around the 12 in front of the ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/14/2024

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

Link for Mr Grove

https://www.facebook.com/theifab/photos/practical-advice-for-referees-back-passsince-1992-a-goalkeeper-cannot-touch-the-/2052017748299701/

'The ball has not been deliberately kicked TO THE GOALKEEPER.


Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/13/2024

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

More on situation 3. I found IFAB advice that this is allowed. They say the referee can't know if it's intentional. I think it's a bit unfortunate. Imagine if the players start abusing that advice. The team will add one defender in the way and the go...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/10/2024

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

I'm sorry, but I still have three situations. No one gives me such helpful advice as you do. :-)

Situation 1:

Player A5 passes to goalkeeper A1. The ball bounces off teammate A20. Goalkeeper A1 touches the ball with his hand. Of...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/9/2024

Kevin jones of London , United Kingdom asks...

My son is a striker and very often defenders will often deliberately lead with their forearm towards his head and or back of the head.
The referees focus is inevitably with the ball and not where the ball is going and the person running the line...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/9/2024

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

Hello,

one more short question please.

Situation:

The player stops the ball by placing a foot on it.

Is this considered a back pass to the goalkeeper?

Thank you very much!...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/8/2024

Neil cooper of Watford, Herts United kingdom asks...

Ball out of play defender punches attacker in the box what's the result...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/6/2024

Charlie of Sheffield, South Yorkshire UK asks...

I was playing 6 a side yesterday and my team had a kick in. To get into some space, I ran off the pitch and behind my teammate who was taking the kick in. I then received the ball from the kick taker. The ref blew up and gave a free kick to the oppos...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 8/30/2024

Steve Johnson of Prescott Valley, AZ US asks...

I've been refereeing for many years and learned that when a GK handles the ball outside the Penalty Area, this is a handling offense ... the result is a Direct Free Kick.
Recently, an assignor told me that when a goalkeeper was sliding and grabs...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 8/28/2024

Bob of New york, New York USA asks...

This is a clip of a handball in a youth game. Whether or not this is a penalty, would you give this a SPA yellow card regardless? The defender seems to move his arm deliberately towards the ball, so that removes the new law change about downgrading “...

Read The Full Q & A

[Previous] [Next]

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>