Law 1 Field of Play
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Law 13 - Free Kicks
Question 541 thru 550 of 807

[Previous] [Next]

Law 13 - Free Kicks 8/26/2008

John of Layton, UT USA asks...

Assuming I have a decent mental image of what happened [in 19786], it seems a viable way to have handled this situation would be to consider the corner kick as not properly restarted and retake the corner. In the case of a kick off where the ball mu...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 13 - Free Kicks 8/25/2008

Ken of Redding, CA USA asks...

Last night at an Adult Recreational League game an IFK was given inside the oppenent's penalty area near the 12yd mark. The attackers obviously did not want to take a quick kick and asked for their 10yds. They were told clearly to wait for the whis...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 13 - Free Kicks 8/24/2008

Rick Czechowski of San Diego, CA USA asks...

I fully agree with the analysis of the panel with regards to this question of what constitutes a 'first touch' on an IFK. Also, you are right that the 'word' is not getting out there about this issue and I have been in discussions with referees seni...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 13 - Free Kicks 8/20/2008

Jake Gillespie of , asks...

hey guys so you know the law about the ball in and out of play that the ball must completely cross the line.

how about goal kicks? is it the same deal.. like does the ball have to complete cross the
18 yr box line?

what about t...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 13 - Free Kicks 8/20/2008

Jay of san jose, ca USA asks...

At a recent game where I was an AR, a team was awarded a corner kick on my side of the field. The player grabs the ball and comes over to the corner with the ball, sets it down and taps the top of the ball with the bottom of his foot. Another player ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 13 - Free Kicks 8/18/2008

Gil Acedo of Upland, CA USA asks...

I have many times lain in bed at midnight thinking about this very situation (tells you a little bit about my life doesn't it). I have always been a stickler for the 'kicked and moved' aspect of Law 13 but seem to be the lone voice calling in the wi...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 13 - Free Kicks 8/18/2008

Gary Jones of Cardiff, Wales asks...

A goalkeeper has a freekick in their area. The goalkeeper taps the ball to their own player and the ball does not leave the penalty area before the player takes a touch of the ball. is this a re-take? Does the same rule apply as a goalkick, where the...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 13 - Free Kicks 8/14/2008

Jake of Sydney, NSW Australia asks...

what is the restart when an indirect free kick is kicked directly into the opponent's goal?

thanks...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 13 - Free Kicks 8/13/2008

David Ogrin of New Braunfels, Texas USA asks...

Great question because this is one I do see all the time.

I reckon the touch [in 19716] where the ball quivers but does not move actually becomes sort of moot. If I read the Law correctly, and read the comments correctly, this touch is noth...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 13 - Free Kicks 8/13/2008

Chris of Vancouver, Canada asks...

Regarding your answers to the restart on a free kick in one's own penalty area kicked into one's own goal, I agree that a goal kick kicked into one's own goal is retaken.

However the LOTG, (from July 1, 2008, FIFA website state that . . .. <...

Read The Full Q & A

[Previous] [Next]

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef




This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>