Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 1112

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

David Youngs of Irvine, CA USA asks...

The handball call in the recent China-USA womens match has me thinking a lot about hand ball situations. A question that comes to mind is the following: Is it against the rules for a defender to raise his hands above his head to attempt to cut down the chance of the ball passing if this position is established before the ball is kicked and not in an attempt to "play" the ball. For example a wall of players with their backs to the kicker and their arms raised would increase the effectiveness of the wall and yet if the ball did happen to strike one of their arms by accident, it would not seem to fall under the handball requirement of deliberate handling of the ball. Perhaps this situation would fall under unsporting conduct instead, since it is obviously against the spirit of the game.

Answer provided by Referee Victor Matheson

The referee always needs to decide whether a hand ball is intentional or not. Intentionally placing your hands in such a way that a ball is likely to hit them is just as much a foul as raising your hands to hit the ball after it is played. Thus, the wall situation you describe is a hand ball. If the wall hand their hands across their body and the ball hits it, even though that technically sounds like the same thing I describe above, since the hands are right next to the body, it is not a foul since it doesn't influence play in any way. Similarly, if your arms are spread way out as you tackle a player, and the ball hits your arm as your opponent tries to pass the ball by you, I would call that a hand ball as well. As for the Chinese player, this is a very gray area. Were her arms in a normal place for her arms to be or did she extend her arms to make it more likely for the ball to "accidentally" hit her hands? In the first case there should be no hand ball. In the second case, I have no problems with calling a hand ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Victor Matheson

View Referee Victor Matheson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 1112
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 17215

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>