Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 14747

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 1/27/2007

RE: Rec Under 8

Mike Peterson of Tallahassee, fl USA asks...

If a goalie has possession of the ball and steps over the end line, however, the ball never leaves the field of play, is this considered a corner kick? Example, in our game our goalie stopped a ball, one foot was on the end line and one was out, the ball never crossed the line. I asked for clarification of the call and he said that it was the position of the feet. Having played soccer as a kid in Europe, I felt that this was incorrect. I didn't argue just kept playing. Has the rule changed at all?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Mike,
No, the law has not changed!
it is the position of the ball with respect to boundrylines and only the ball that determines if the ball is in or out. You are 100% spot on mate and kudoes for not arguing the point with the referee on the field. I d0 hope that you mentioned this to the league authorities though so the proper information could be made available to the referee through the back channels. In that way we fix a problem with no finger of blame poking into the fun of the match!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Hi Mike. I'm glad you didn't argue the call but you were correct. Doesn't matter at all where the feet or hands are. When considering whether or not the ball has gone out of play, the ONLY thing that matters is where the BALL is. In accordance with Law 9, the whole of the ball must cross the whole of the touchline or goal line to be out of play. Keep in mind that at U8, you are probably dealing with very inexperienced Grade 9 referees who are, unfortunately, not well-versed in Law. I'd bring this to the attention of the League authorities to stop such misinformation being dispersed. Again, you did well not arguing. At this level, we try to just make it safe and fun for the kids. Well done!!



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Nope. It only matters where ball is. Not keepers feet.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14747
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>