Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 14760

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 1/29/2007

RE: AYSO Under 13

Cameron of Lancaster, CA USA asks...

Can a goalkeeper waiting outside the penalty area stop (with his foot) a ball kicked by an opponent towards the GK's penalty area and then dribble or kick the ball into his penalty area and pick it up?Is this not a foul as the GK as a player outside the penalty area passed the ball back to the GK(himself)?

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Yes, he is not allowed to touch ball with hands after releasing it. Here the keeper did not release ball so it is "ok" to touch it with hands.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Cameron,
the act you describe is fine as the keeper is not limited in the use of his hands inside his penalty area as the ball was not first deliberately kicked to him by a teammate. Admittedly when this passback term first evolved several years ago I thought exactly as you did for a brief time until corrected by those more knowledgable than I.
It seemed to me that it was circumventing the law but a pass to himself is fine as long as there was no deliberate kick of the ball by a teammate to the keeper.
Do not forget while any opponent played ball is ok it is also ok for a teammate to head, chest etc.. the ball outside of the PA and the keeper can still dribble the ball back into his area and use his hands. Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Law 12 says, "touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a team-mate". The goalkeeper is not herself and a teammate of herself at the same time, so there is no problem here. Unless maybe it was Sybil playing ...



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Hi Cameron. The foul is handling the ball deliberately kicked to him by a TEAMMATE, not an opponent. If an opponent plays the ball, the keeper is free to collect it outside his penalty area with his feet, dribble it inside his penalty area then pick it up. He then has 6 seconds to release the ball from his hands. Thanks for the question



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14760
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>