Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 14766

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 1/30/2007

RE: Rec Under 19

Phil of Vancouver, Canada asks...

What/Where is the restart for a technical foul e.g. ball is in play down field and the keeper at the opposite end is spewing foul language directed at another player. If the referee stops the game to deal with this (Red card), is the restart an IDFK from where the offending player is (goalie)or is the IDFK from the location of where the ball was when the referee stopped the game?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Phil,
When the ball is in play and you stop play to deal with misconduct on the field of play the restart occurs from the point of the misconduct In this case INDFK where the spewing filth is spurting from. If the misconduct was off the field of play while the ball was in play THEN the restart would be from the location of the BALL. All restarts are subject to law 8 special circumstances from within the goal area. Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Unless you are being assessed and don't have the courage to bring the ball the length of the field and lay it down 5 M in front of the goalkeeper after you caution him for screaming the disgusting word beginning with the sixth letter of the English alphabet... He failed.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

IFK at spot where keeper was when he said the bad language. Laws are clear that if referee stops game for misconduct, IFK at spot of misconduct.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14766
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 14781

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>