- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 14770Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 1/31/2007RE: Competitive Adult Bryan Mintenko of Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada asks...If the ball goes into the penalty area, and a defender places his/her foot on the top of the ball, and the goalkeeper picks it up with his/her hands, is that considered to be an intentional pass to the goalkeeper?
If the defender places his/her foot on the top of the ball to stop it from rolling, then leaves the ball and the keeper picks it up, is that an intentional pass?
Thanks. Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino If the ball goes into the penalty area and a teammate of the keeper stops it with his foot and leaves it for his keeper, the keeper may not handle it. If the ball is stopped already, whay would the player put his foot on it. But if that DID occur, I would have a hard time saying the teammate of the keeper had KICKED OR PLAYED the ball with his foot if he did not move it.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Nathan Lacy There are three criteria to be met in this situation - foot, intentional, hand. The foot plays the ball intentionally which is then picked up with the hands by the keeper. With these criteria being met an IFK is awarded at the location of where the keeper played the ball with their hands. Using the work "kicked" just confuses the issue and you should consider that if the ball has been played with the foot then it has been "kicked." All the best,
Read other questions answered by Referee Nathan Lacy
View Referee Nathan Lacy profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson HI Bryan, In truth we batted this around a bit before settling on if the foot controls the ball then kicked and played have the same meaning. One could claim that by putting the foot in the path of the ball, the foot struck the ball (which is the dictionary definition of a 'kick'). In both your situations an INDFK for deliberately kicking the ball to the keeper by the teammate. We can postulate a keeper and defender arriving at the same time to stop a ball it could be considered as inadvertant contact if an immediate save was in progress and no need to award an INDFK out. But if the defender shields the ball or lifts his foot off and leaves it for the keeper or the keeper takes it from under his foot with no reason to make a save it follows the logic of why the deliberate foot pass by a teammate to a keeper was outlawed in the first place and we award an INDFK to the keeper for forgetting it! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer I would say the following, the player playing the ball with his foot has, in fact, "kicked" it and the goalkeeper who uses his hands in this case must be sanctioned for his error. There are referees who will argue the point and referees who will not have to courage to give the sanction, that's why we get the big bucks -- AND this is a different story from the ball not in play being tapped and moved a minuscule amount. This is not a kick and moves situation, it is a plays the ball with the foot and leaves it where the keeper may use his hands thing.
No, this is a violation of Law 12 and we pull up the keeper. The USSF has written a paper on the subject. The paper is so old that it has difficult to find. For your purposes Bryan, I'll be willing to wager there is no shaky ground at all. Give the free kick and be done with it for the remainder of the match.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14770
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|