Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 14788

Law 14 - Penalty kick 2/3/2007

RE: Adult

kevin gibson of DURHAM, DURHAM ENGLAND asks...

in a pen shootout,if the ball hits the post/crossbar then the keeper before going into the net is the goal allowed to stand

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Yes provided the referee has not blown the whistle too early!

What we need to remember is a ball once kicked is imparted with energy and until that energy is ffully expended or the ball is out of play, under keeper control or headed away from the goal with no chance of ever entering it any rebounds of the post crossbar or keeper in any combination willmake for a legalgoal if the ball winds up in the back of the net!

Quote FIFA law 14
a goal is awarded if, before passing between the goalposts and under the crossbar:

the ball touches either or both of the goalposts and/or the crossbar, and/or the goalkeeper." end Quote

Cheers




Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Nathan Lacy

If this is all a part of the "natural" action of the ball as a result of the kick having been taken then, yes, the goal is allowed. This was debated quite a bit a few years back and essentially the final line of thought was that if the ball went in as a result of the momentum of the ball as a result of the initial kick - even though it rebounded in such a way as described - then it should be allowed. The fact that the keeper was simply unlucky by being in the wrong place as the ball came off the crossbar is, well - unfortunate. All the best,



Read other questions answered by Referee Nathan Lacy

View Referee Nathan Lacy profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

yes, goal counts! Kick does not end until all enerrgy put on ball is out.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Law 14 says, in part:
[quote]
When a penalty kick is taken during the normal course of play, or time has been extended at half-time or full time to allow a penalty kick to be taken or retaken, a goal is awarded if, before passing between the goalposts and under the crossbar:
? the ball touches either or both of the goalposts and/or the crossbar,
and/or the goalkeeper
[endquote]

Then under "Procedures to Determine a Winner" in the Laws we find:
[quote]
Unless otherwise stated, the relevant Laws of the Game and International F.A. Board Decisions apply when kicks from the penalty mark are being taken
[endquote]

So a ball bouncing around which eventually enters the goal without additional impetus by the kicker counts.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14788
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>