Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 14789

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 2/3/2007

RE: Pro Adult

Daniel Munteanu of Bacau, Romania asks...

An attacker may charge the opposite goalkeeper?
1. If the answer is "Yes", what conditions must carry out the charging in order to be considered a lawful one?
2. If the answer is "No", what forbids it?
Best regards,
Daniel Munteanu www.danimunte.xhost.ro

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Daniel,
Charging is in fact a DFK foul as listed in law 12 so it is not something that is wise to do to any player

However there is what is referred to as a legal charge whereby to contest ball posession a player may challenge his opponent (includes the keeper) shoulder to shoulder, UNLESS the keeper has the ball in his hands as he is granted 6 seconds of uncontested posession too which even shoulder to shoulder would not be permitted.

If you, as the attacker and keeper were both running after a ball not yet within the keeper's grasp and the ball was within playing distance (realtive close proximity to where in about two steps at the speed you are going you could get to that ball you could legally bump him off the ball using your shoulder.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

An attacker cannot take out keeper or challenge keeper when he has ball. Keeper must be allowed to punt or place ball or release ball in another manner. If it is a 50-50 ball, then both keeper and attacker have right to ball. Referee must evaluate who committed the foul.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14789
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>