Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 14790

Law 3 - Number of Players 2/4/2007

RE: Under 14

fernando of Las Palmas, España España asks...

hi...i'm going to try explain a situation

There is a throw in to A team in middle line.
then, there is a substitution.

A10 is out...A15 is going to enter, but A15 go to throw in directly (he step on with his left foot the line)

The procedure of substitution have been correct?
or A15 have to enter with his two foots in order to considerate that the procedure have been correctly

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Provided A15 entered from the half way line and with the referees permission. Then A15 can take the throwin.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

No, the substitution has not been properly performed. A 15 must first enter the field of play then step off and take the throw



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

As I read your question, A15 stepped onto the line and thus was on the field. Then he stepped back and took the throw-in. No problem. He became a player when he touched the line.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

The substitute may enter only at the halfway line, after the player he is replacing has left the field and after he receives permission of the referee. If the referee considers his stepping on the park with one foot entering he may legally restart play with the throw-in. I would consider this a correct entry.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14790
Read other Q & A regarding Law 3 - Number of Players

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>