- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 14802Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 2/5/2007RE: Pro Under 17 Christopher of Glendale, NY US asks...If a players purposely passes the ball to his own goalkeeper and the goalkeep handles the ball, what penalty is given? I have heard the 6 yard line, but where is that?
Also, when aplayer purposely puts the ball out if play because a player of the opposite team is injured, is their a law that forces the other team to give them the ball back or is that just good sportsmanship?
Thank You! Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol If a keeper picks up the ball that is deliberately kicked to him by a teammate, the restart is an indirect free kick at the point where the he picked up the ball. However, no incoming free kicks may be taken inside the goal area - if that is where he touched it, the ball is moved out to the 6 yard line.
There is no Law that requires a team to return a throw-in when the ball was kicked out because of an injury.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller If a player deliberatly kicks ball to keeper and keeper handles ball, IFK to opponents at spot of where keeper handled ball. If in goal area, kick is taken from point on top of goal area closest to where the infraction occurred.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Lets get a few things straight in our minds.
There is nothing wrong in passing the ball to our keeper at any stage and in any legal manner to our keeper. A keeper can always use his feet or other legal body part to play a passed ball remembering that there are two exceptions to WHEN the keeper is NOT permitted to use his hands within his own penalty area based on the fact that a teammate has deliberately passed him the ball!
An indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team if a goalkeeper, inside his own penalty area, touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a team-mate or touches the ball with his hands after he has received it directly from a throw-in taken by a team-mate. When these criteria are in effect the keeper can kick the ball away with his own feet or use the needed body part head, chest etc to control the ball just not the use of his hands.
We must differentiate when the pass is made to the keeper by a teammate that does not involve a deliberate kick or a direct throw it is OK for the keeper to use his hands as he is allowed within his own area to do so. This would be a headed ball or a chested ball directed towards the keeper and pose no issues or cause for concern.
THis portion of law 12 is misnamed a PASS BACK but in truth the direction of the pass has no part in whether it was deliberately kicked or not to the keeper. If the keeper fails to recognize the restriction is in place then the indfk is awarded from where the keeper uses his hands to touch the ball inside the 18 yard penalty area.
If the spot of the infraction was close to goal inside the 6 yard goal area law 8 states FIFA QUOTE Special Circumstances "An indirect free kick awarded to the attacking team in its opponents? goal area is taken from the goal area line parallel to the goal line at the point nearest to where the infringement occurred." end quote This means 6 yards away from goal is the closest any indfk in favour of the ATTACKING TEAM could ever occur. As a side note the defenders are allowed to stand on the goal line inbetween the posts and under the crossbar whenever the indfk is closer than the ten yards to the goalline. This is the only time they can infringe upon the ten yard restriction!
There is no law that states one team must return the ball to their opponents. This act is one of an unwritten understanding that the spirit of the game and the concept of fair play are somehow ingrained as a natural order of business and if one team fails to honour this choice in an appropriate fashion the game can go south in a deep hurry! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14802
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|