Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 14815

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 2/8/2007

RE: High School & Rec High School

Hagan Bush of Pikeville, KY USA asks...

Last night in the first half of USA vs. Mexico, the USA goalkeeper Tim Howard covered the ball with a sliding movement but in the process part of his body appeared to slide out of the penalty area.

Question: If the referee had determined part of his body was touching the area outside of the penalty area, would this have been ruled "handling"?

Thanks,
hb

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Hagan,
NO absolutely not, only the position of the ball not the keeper's body would determine if the ball was outside the PA (a deliberate handling foul if the hands were in contact with the ball) or inside (the hands can touch the ball with even if the rest of the body was outside the PA!) Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

You don't say where the ball was, you say where the goalkeeper was. The Law states a keeper may handle the ball inside his own penalty area. Important thing to remember...

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

It matter only where ball is. Feet hands can be whereever, but if ball is in penalty area, no foul



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

It only matters where the ball is. Did you watch the second half? Am I the only one that saw a clear and obvious DOGSO against the US result in a foul and caution only?



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14815
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>