- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 14837Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 2/12/2007RE: Competetive Under 14 bret getty of Mt. Carmel, Pa. USA asks...During a recent indoor soccer game an event happened that has me puzzled. During a corner kick the majority of the attacking players stood on the 18 yd. line. As the kicker approached the ball the other players charged the goal area. The ball was lofted in the air in front of the goal and two attacking players made an attempt to head the ball. One did head the ball and the keeper made a great grab on the ball controlling it. However since this happened in real time the second attacking players momentum carried her into the goalkeeper bumping her. The keeper lost her balance and stumbled landing inside the goal,the whole ball over the goal line.Even though their was no intent to push the keeper she did bump her.The ref. allowed the goal but I'm not sure this was correct since the keeper did catch the ball outside the goal. It's one of those plays where it doesn't seem right to award the goal , but it doesn't seem right to penalize the other player.Any help would be great Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Bret, if the keeper has ball posession and an opponent stumbles into the keeper trying to head the ball it is at least a careless foul and a DFK out should be awarded. While we would have to see to be sure my opinion no goal! In a 50 50 challenge we can see incidental contact and decide if it is trivial or doubtful as to a foul or misconduct but to push or knock a keeper into their goal can hardly be ignored. If the keeper was already falling into the goal we might not see the contact as affecting the result but it appears here a goal was awarded when in my opinion it should not! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer I scored my second goal by charging the keeper into the net. The Law has changed and you can't do that any more. Once the keeper has possession she's no longer a target!
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14837
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|