- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 14857Law 11 - Offside 2/17/2007RE: Recreational Under 14 David Nelles of Victoria, BC Canada asks...If a defenseman, in trying to clear a ball out of his 18-yard box and down the field, kicks it into an opposing player and the ball rebounds (but is not intentionally directed) to another opposing player who happens to in an off-side position, should the play be immediately called off-side? Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson HI David, ANY deflection of the ball off a player still counts as a last touch of the ball and places offside criteria into effect for his team only but it does not change offside criteria if the opposition last touched the ball before the defelection. Once the red defender kicked the ball into the blue opposing player at that moment all blue players are looked at for part one of offside position. It does not mater that the ball was controlled or deflected by a player to set offside into effect only that a ball must be controlled posession by an opponent to reset it to zero.
A DEFLECTION (unintentional contact of the ball) offside is initiated at the moment of last touch by the teammate of the offside positioned players. A DEFLECTION though does not RESET the offside for the opposition. In effect there COULD be offside criteria in effect for both teams because a deflection does not eliminate a last touch and the deflection itself is a last touch but by the opponent.
The need to signal offside after the deflection is based on the involvement of that offside player. It is not immediately neccessary just because he is offside positioned we judge how does he affect the play? If the ball actually touches him yes, we stop play immediately as he has interferred with play.
There exisits a possibility he might not be the only player of his team who could play the ball or he might know he is offside and try to avoid playing the ball.
He could by simply being poorly situated interfere with an opponent long before he touched the ball. But he is not quilty of gaining an advantage BECAUSE the deflection was off his OWN teammate not the opposition!
Decision 2
The definitions of elements of involvement in active play are as follows:
Interfering with play means playing or touching the ball passed or touched by a team-mate.
Interfering with an opponent means preventing an opponent from playing or being able to play the ball by clearly obstructing the opponent?s line of vision or movements or making a gesture or movement which, in the opinion of the referee, deceives or distracts an opponent.
Gaining an advantage by being in that position means playing a ball that rebounds to him off a post or the crossbar having been in an offside position or playing a ball that rebounds to him off an opponent having been in an offside position.
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino The ball only has to TOUCH a teammate in order for offside to occur, so in your scenario, if the ball bounces off a player to a teammate that was in offside poaition when the ball touched him, that player may not participate in active play.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller Sounds like this is offside. The ball touched an attacker and rolled to the attackers teammate. Since you say he was in an offside position at time of the accidental defleciton, it wouldbe offside.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Offside is determined the moment the ball touches or is played by one of your own team. Nothing else matters, if you are in an offside position at that moment you can't get involved. Law 11 is really simple, black - white; on - off; yes - no; simple...
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14857
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|