- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 14864Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 2/19/2007RE: Rec Adult stephen of Tampa, Florida USA asks...If the goal keeper has both feet inside the penalty box but picks the ball up which is out side the box is it a free kick? Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller Yes, only matters where ball is. DFK in this case.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Well.....maybe. If the ball is just a few inches outside the penalty area, and the keeper's handling it does not affect play, the referee may decide the offence is trifling and allow play to continue
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Stephan, keeper's feet play no part, if the ball is not in contact with or overhanging the PA boundryline in the air or on the ground or within the PA boundry lines the keeper who grabs a ball outside his area has comitted a DFK offence handles the ball deliberately and requires a direct free kick from that point where the ball was with possible caution or send off posibilities.
I am less inclined to see trivial in a ball coming into the area then a punt going out of the area but faded lines and wet fields do play apart in really close calls as does the nearness of an attacking player! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14864
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|