- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 14865Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 2/19/2007RE: Level 1 High School Joe O'Brien of Eau Claire, WI USA asks...1)Can a keeper playing the ball outside of the his penalty area dribble the ball back into the penalty area and pick it up?
2)Can a keeper while in his penalty area flip the ball up with his feet into his hands. Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol The keeper may do either of those things, provided she would have been allowed to pick up the ball directly. If the ball was received from a deliberate kick or a throw-in from a teammate, she is not permitted to handle the ball. Kicking it around a bit first does not remove that prohibition.
Also, if she had released the ball from her hands once, she is not permitted to handle it again until it is touched by another player first.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller 1. Yes provided a teammate did not kick the ball to keeper with his/her foot deliberatly. 2. Again if a teammate did not kick ball to him deliberatly or he could simply bend over and pick up ball.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson YES provided none of the 4 handling restrictions of law 12 were in effect. It is not where the ball is recieved or how often the ball is kicked in or out of the penalty area by the keeper acting as a player! The priveledge of a keeper being able to handle a ball inside his own PA is not permitted if any the four actions occur prior to the use of the hands on the ball to award INDFK offence against the keeper?
Law 12 keeper restrictions (illegal handling results in) Indirect Free Kick An indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team if a goalkeeper, inside his own penalty area, commits any of the following four offences:
takes more than six seconds while controlling the ball with his hands before releasing it from his possession
touches the ball again with his hands after it has been released from his possession and has not touched any other player
touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a team-mate
touches the ball with his hands after he has received it directly from a throw-in taken by a team-mate.
A keeper has no handling restrictions on any ball last touched by an opponent or a pass to him by a teammate with other than a deliberate foot pass. Even an inadvetant deflection off the foot of a teammate SHOULD be fine provide the referee saw it as such! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14865
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|