Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 14870

Law 11 - Offside 2/20/2007

RE: Rec Adult

Don Davis of tulsa, ok US asks...

In the following
The Question was This question submitted by Kieth Contarino: A player makes a pass towards his teammate who is in offside position running in the direction of the ball inside the opponents Penalty Area. An opponent reaches out with his hand and deliberately deflects the ball with his hand away from the goal to the player whom the pass was intended. Your action is:
Shouldn't the play stop where the defender deliberately handles the ball regardless to where anyone is on the field?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Don,
if the referee is of the OPINION the deliberate handling was to deny the offside player the ball we must remenber the offside is initated when the kick (last touch of the ball by the teammate) starts the ball rolling so to speak. If the deliberate handling comes after offside is initiated we must ascertain if the ball was intended for the offside player and the handling was the defender's solution to deny him the ball.
As an unfair act, can we say without certainty that the offside player affected play and was involved by creating an outcome that would not have occured if he was not there?

The USB of the act is cautionable reguardless of what decision the referee arrives at! If he decides the DFK for the DHB should be awarded because the offside attacker had not affected play then the spot of the infringment is where the DFK occurs.

IF the referee determines the offside player was involved, did affect play, was interferring or gaining an advantage off a deflection then the offside is awarded and the INDFK occurs from where the offside player was at the time of the KICK, NOT when the ball eventually got to him or he eventually became involved!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

No. The key word here is deflection which implies no control. A deflection off ANY body part of the defender does NOT reset offside. Offside is judged at the moment the ball is played by the attacker. The handling comes AFTER so the proper call is offside. A player in offside position may not be rewarded for being in that position. If an opponent plays the ball then offside is reset. If not, then you look at this as if the opponent wasn't even there. Hence the offside. How old was this question?



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14870
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 14921

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>