Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 14884

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 2/23/2007

RE: Grade 8 Adult

Ryan of Dallas, TX USA asks...

I have two sceanarios regarding Law 12.

A player of Team A fouls two opponents identically at the same time, i.e. grabs two jerseys at the same time. Where is the ball positioned for the restart?

Two players on Team A begin to shout abusive foul language from two different locations on the field. Stopping play to deal with misconduct here results in an indirect free kick but where should the ball be positioned for the free kick?

In both cases I believe the restart should be positioned at the infringement location that is best for the opposing team, Team B. Is this correct procedure?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

You are correct. If two infringements happen simultaneously, the ref "punishes" the most severe. Usually that means the actions of one player can be seen as two different fouls, so the ref chooses the one that has a DFK restart instead of an IFK. Very seldom do two events happen exactly at the same time.

In the case of your player tugging on two shirts at the same time, if it can be determined that he grabbed one first, that's the one you go with. If that's not the case, if indeed player A grabbed both player B's at the same time, take the one closer to the goal - even if that means a PK because one was inside the penalty area and the other outside.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Whever the referee feels first offense occurred. If they were simulataneous, I would penalize at the spot closer to the goal or if in the penalty area, the one that results in a PK. Ball is positioned at spot of where the contact was made or would have been made. If referee stops play to issue a yellow card, match restarts with an IFK at spot of offense. Again, at spot where the player was standinmg when he shouted out the misconduct. Whichever player acted first will lose the IFK for hsi team.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Although I doubt this would ever happen, if they are indeed equal and simultaneous infringements, then I would also restart as you suggest in scenario 2. In scenario 1, the restart is where the player pulled down both opponents



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

It sounds stupid but I watched a player grab two oppoents by the hair to pull them back as he tried to head the ball so it is possible. I sent the player off for VC but I suppose we could have made the case for USB and two cautions! ;o)

We restart from where ever we think the first player who was fouled but if unsure restart location as a DFK there is no worries to a blade of grass restart, the general area is likely fine if away from goal, however, if near goal or in the pk area which ever foul location is to the best advantage.

If we stopped play because two teammates engaged in cautionable misconduct on the field of play while the ball is in play we INDFK restart from where ever we think the first player who initiated it! If it truly is a toss up pick the best location for the opposing team!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14884
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>