- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 14892Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 2/24/2007RE: Under 11 Conor Frederick of Glendale, California United States asks...When a player passes to his own goalie and the goalie picks it up in the box, is it a penalty or and indirect kick? Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Hi Conor. Keep things simple. When the keeper is inside his own penalty area EVERY handling violation results in an INDIRECT free kick. Never a penalty kick. So, if the keeper deliberately handles the ball after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a teammate, thrown-in to him by a teammate, if he does not release the ball from his hands within 6 seconds, or if he commits a second touch the punishment is an indirect free kick to the opponents. When the keeper is OUTSIDE his own penalty area, he is treated like any other player. Thanks for the question.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Connor, the term pass refers to moving the ball from one teammate to another.
It can be done with the foot which is a RESTRICTED handling infringment for the keeper and an INDFK if actually handled by the keeper inside his PA!
An indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team if a goalkeeper, inside his own penalty area, commits the following offence:
touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a team-mate
The pass can be made with any other body part as long as the ball is not deliberately kicked by a teammate to the keeper even a deflection off the foot is fine for the keeper to be able to use his hands on the ball inside his PA. As my colleague points out a KEEPER handling restriction INSIDE his own PA is ALWAYS an INDFK! Outside the PA it is deliberate handling same as any player and a DFK Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller In the event that the keeper handles the ball after a teammate delibertly kicks ball to KEEPER, it is an IFK.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14892
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|