Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 14928

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/2/2007

RE: Rec. Under 9

Rick of Blacksburg , Virginia USA asks...

On what part of the field can a goalie use there hands to catch a ball or stop a ball? When do they become not a goalie?

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

How are things in Southwest Virginia? The keeper has special privileges ONLY when the BALL is inside his own penalty area. He loses those privileges when his hands are outside of the penalty area. Doesn't matter where his feet are. Outside of his own penalty area, he's like any other player



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

While the goalkeeper can't do special keeper stuff (handling the ball) when he is outside the penalty area, he still remains the goalkeeper.

Law 3 says one of the players on a team must be a goalkeeper. Law 3 also says that the goalkeeper may change places with another player, but only when the referee has been informed and at a stoppage in play.

Law 4 says the goalkeeper must be wearing colors that distinguish him from the other players.

So even when the goalie crosses outside "the 18", he is still the keeper on the team. Another player can't suddenly decide to run into the penalty area and handle the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Rick,
the player who wears the keeper jersey is the goaly as you put it for the time he is onthe field no matter which part of the field that is. As mentioned a team must always have a keeper as a onfield player. A keeper can run into the opposing half and pass, shoot or score same as any other player .
The only difference is a keeper can use his hands to touch the ball if the BALL is inside the confines of his OWN penalty area.
That is the 18 yard rectangular area which includes the 6 yard goal area immediately in front of the nets, it does NOT include that arc thing at the top! The arc is attached but is NOT part of the penalty area. Its sole purpose is to ensure 10 yards at the taking of a PK

Inside his own penalty area a keeper has that special priviledge of stopping the ball with his hands and picking the ball up but thereare a few circumstances where even he cannot use his hands inside his own penalty area. While a keeper can NEVER be quilty of a PK for deliberately handling the ball inside his area and ONLY a DFK outside his area. An indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team if a goalkeeper, inside his own penalty area, commits any of the following four offences:

takes more than six seconds while controlling the ball with his hands before releasing it from his possession

touches the ball again with his hands after it has been released from his possession and has not touched any other player

touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a team-mate

touches the ball with his hands after he has received it directly from a throw-in taken by a team-mate
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14928
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>