- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 14951Law 11 - Offside 3/6/2007RE: High School Adult Sam Haynes of Eastaboga, AL USA asks...Offsides question. Player 1 on team A is given a direct free kick. Player 2 on team A is onsides when the kick is made. Player 2 breaks toward the goal, passing the defense. The ball bounces off of the goal and player 2 who is passed the defense at this time delivers the ball into the goal from the ricoche. Is player 2 considered off sides, even if he is onsides when the kick was made? Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer You state the player is NOT offside at the moment the ball is touched or played by one of his own team, Correct?
It is not an offence in itself to be in an offside position, a position he runs to after the ball is touched or played, Correct?
The ball is between the goal and player 2 when player 2 hits it, Correct?
No offside offence criteria has happened!
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Player onside when ball is played by teammate. End of story..
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Gary Voshol "Player 1 on team A is given a direct free kick. Player 2 on team A is onsides when the kick is made."
OK, we can stop right here. Not offside. Doesn't matter what else happens.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller It is judged at the moment ball touches his teammate. Player 2 is onside when ball touched player 1 and thus NO OFFSIDE. Easy as pie!
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Sam, offside is a two part equation where the first part "position" must be established when the TEAMMATE last touches the ball. That simply does not occur. Running into an offside position AFTER the last touch is fine, the ball is free to be played. The 2nd part "involvement" is of this player's own making not something that occurred at the time of the last touch of the teammate, he was NOT in an offside position when that kick occurred! In fact the player shooting therrebound now becomes the teammate who last touches the ball and resets offside position for the rest of his team or not as the case may be! What your case is, is a case of a well timed run to score a great goal! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14951
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|