- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 14953Law 14 - Penalty kick 3/7/2007RE: Intermediate AYSO referee - 15 yrs exp Other Tony Nault of Eaton Rapids, MI United States asks...The referee signals for a penalty kick to be taken. An attacking player then violently punches an opponent outside the penalty area. The referee notices the incident:
If the ball goes in the goal what does the referee do? Award a goal, Red Card and send off
If the ball does not go in the goal what does the referee do?
Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol Law 14 tells us the answer:
If the referee gives the signal for a penalty kick to be taken and, before the ball is in play, one of the following situations occurs: [...] A team-mate of the player taking the kick infringes the Laws of the Game: ? the referee allows the kick to proceed ? if the ball enters the goal, the kick is retaken ? if the ball does not enter the goal, the referee stops play and restarts the match with an indirect free kick to the defending team, from the place where the infringement occurred.
The punching player gets sent off for violent conduct, that's a given.
The restart is given in the bullet points above.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer The reason a penalty is allowed to continue is the off chance it will be missed. If missed the team has had a fair chance at its penalty kick and it will not be taken again. If made their fair chance at a penalty kick involved something else, not in accordance with the Laws of the Game, and there can be no goal as per Law 14 or, as in normal play, Law 10.
The violent conduct is dealt with on its own merits.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino This is a no brainer. No goal. Retake. Send-off and red card. Had he missed the shot restart with IFK for opponents.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller If the ball goes into the goal, restart with a rekick. If the ball does not enter the goal IFK at the spot of the infringement. Also, send off attacker for violent conduct.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14953
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|